Seriously Long Wearing Makeup (Face)

Alrighty so I feel like the constant struggle for most of us makeup wearers out there is how to get the look we’ve spent so much time creating to look awesome all day. I have combination/oily skin and have gone through a shocking amount of products that have claimed to be up to the challenge. Here are the current products that have survived this ongoing process of elimination.

Urban Decay DeSlick Makeup Setting Spray
Urban Decay DeSlick Makeup Setting Spray

Oh yes. There it is. The often raved about Urban Decay DeSlick Setting Spray. I caved into trying this about two years ago and for the longest time felt disappointed. I would do all of my makeup and then go to spray this over top when it was done and once it dried, I would find that the nice, flawless finish on my foundation would be gone. If anything, it looked like I needed to be powdered. I went for ages without using this but finally heard that lots of people were applying this before their makeup. I gave it a shot and my mind is blown. Now what I do is after my moisturizer has had about ten minutes to soak into my skin, I will do two sprays of this stuff. One to cover the top half of my face and another to cover the bottom half. It seems to just absorb the oil on my skin and make my skin look ready for makeup. Definitely an important step for me now.

Revlon Photoready Perfecting Primer
Revlon Photoready Perfecting Primer

The next step that I cannot live without is primer. I’ve tried all the big names that most people have labelled as “holy grail products” but this guy has been on top for ages. It’s the Revlon Photo Ready Perfecting Primer. OH MY GOSH this stuff makes your skin look flawless. In 10 seconds you’ll have no pores, blurred imperfections and luminous skin. It’s an absolute dream. On top of all of that, it keeps your skin crazy matte for the whole day.

Revlon Colorstay Foundation (Oily/Combination)
Revlon Colorstay Foundation (Oily/Combination)

I’ve always had a tough time with foundations. I could never find one that was a formulation that I liked, or that was the right colour, or that could handle my oily skin…But after hearing so many people rave about the Revlon Colourstay 24 Hour Foundation I had to give it a try. This is one of the few drug store foundations to have a dry/combination and an oily/combination formula. I picked out the latter and it’s absolutely incredible. I like to apply it with a stippling brush to get it to blend nicely all over my face so that it looks super natural. But it’s also high enough coverage that you can build it as a concealer if you need a little extra. Revlon has some bad ass products for oily skin but my only issue is that for drug store makeup, I find these guys can get a wee bit pricey. This foundation is usually around the $20 to even $25 mark, and the primer is usually around $20. I know this is nothing for someone who wears Dior or Nars foundations which are an insane $50, but drugstore makeup is supposed to be the budged friendly option…these prices are coming up to those of higher end brands. Just something to keep in mind. 😉

Rimmel Stay Matte Powder
Rimmel Stay Matte Powder

The last thing I wanted to mention is possibly the most important. I used to be in love with the Maybelline Dream Matte as most people were. But about two years ago they brought out a new and supposedly better version: Dream Wonder Powder. This stuff made me very sad. Not only was the lightest colour no longer light enough for me, but it was wayyy heavier coverage than Dream Matte, and it didn’t keep my skin looking nearly as perfect. So I was on the market for a new powder. With some trial and error I have managed to find my new love and his name is Rimmel Stay Matte Powder. Light coverage so you don’t look cakey, super matte, lovely colour for my skin, he’s got it all! Definitely check this stuff out if you were affected by Maybelline’s cruel introduction of Dream Wonder.

Have you tried any of these? Any favourites that I haven’t tried? Any posts you’d want to see?
Thanks so much for stopping by! 🙂

xx -Rach

2 thoughts on “Seriously Long Wearing Makeup (Face)

Leave a Reply

