Is it Worth the Buy? Benefit the Porefessional

Hey everyone! It’s been a while! I’ve gotten crazy busy with school lately. Counting down the days to Christmas break! But I’ve also been spending the past little while trying Benefit’s the Porefessional. I’ve been hearing about this stuff for ages and I know that so many people see it as a holy grail product. So I had some pretty high expectations.

I know that you guys have already heard all about what this product does but I’m gonna repeat it anyway for those of you that are like me and take forever to jump onto new products. The Porefessional is a face primer Pro balm to minimize the appearance of pores. It has excellent reviews with an average of 4/5 stars on Sephora.com.

8799928713246

The packaging is very typical Benefit. It’s bright and cute with a clever play on words as the bottle shows a Top Secret agent who is the Professional of pore minimization. (Well played, Benefit) I love that it’s in a squeezy tube so you can get every last bit of it which can often be tough with a pump. And for $39.00 you should be able to get all of it! However, there’s no way to see how much you have left which is kind of annoying but I mean, how picky are we gonna get?

I had done all of my usual skin care for the day and sprayed my Urban Decay DeSlick to get ready for my makeup. I somehow missed the memo that this stuff was a brownish nude colour so right away that threw me off—don’t worry it doesn’t actually add any colour to the skin it blends right in. I started to smooth this over my skin with my fingers, the way that I usually apply primer. Now I have combination/oily skin (more on the oily side) so when I saw that this stuff wasn’t drying 100% matte I got a little concerned. After the application, my pores did look minimized and my skin’s overall appearance was nice. But when I went to apply my foundation on top I found that it didn’t look the same as it usually does. The change was very subtle but my skin didn’t have the totally airbrushed look that I’m used to.

Throughout the day, my skin did not turn into an oily mess with my makeup melting off. Which honestly, I had kind of expected. It still looked quite nice, but again I think that my issue was that the Porefessional didn’t leave my skin totally matte and didn’t make my foundation last a super long time like most primers do.

Overall: I think that the Porefessional is a very good product. I think that it does what it says it will do, which is minimize the appearance of pores, very well. I just think that it might not be the best match for my oily skin. I also can’t help but comment that I do feel that the price is a little bit crazy but I mean…that seems to be pretty normal now, eh?

Definitely Worth the Buy if you’re looking for a nice way to minimize your pores and have dry to combination skin. (And have $40 to spend!) 😉

*Please note that my sister who has very dry skin loves this stuff! In her own words, she said that she likes it so much because it doesn’t make her skin too matte to the point that it looks fake, but it also makes her skin look flawless under her foundation.

What do you guys think of the Porefessional? Do you think it’s Worth the Buy? Let me know in the comments along with any future posts you’d like to see. Thanks for stopping by! ❤

xx -Rach

Leave a Reply

