My Go-To Red Lip

Hello again everyone! Bright statement lipstick is one of my favourite trends for this time of year and I am always looking for new ways to do it. A red lip is not only classic but will look great on everyone just by changing the undertone. Here’s how I create my current go-to red lip!

IMG_0845

Since we’re going for a matte look, it’s super important to moisturize your lips first. You can even go all out and do a lip scrub if you want to.  

Up next is lipliner. I’m actually going to be using two here because I find that combined they give me the best finished look, but you can totally get away with just one. The first is the Sephora Universal Lip Liner. This is a clear, waterproof lip liner which is great for all of us who are lip stick addicts and don’t want to get a new lip liner every time! It works miracles for preventing your lip colour from bleeding and can easily last you all day. If you feel like that’s all you need then you can move to the next step, but since I’m pretty clumsy I like to go in with a red lip liner to make the edges nice and sharp. Here I’m using Anabelle Lip Liner in 205 Cherry.

IMG_0874

My current favourite red lipstick is the Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella. You can get this guy for free right now at Sephora as the VIB birthday gift! It’s a gorgeous matte red with blue undertones so it’ll make your teeth look super white–always a bonus. I usually hate matte lipsicks because I find them way too drying, but this one is really creamy so it gives you that gorgeous matte look without feeling chalky. (Hence the name Velvet Matte!)

Then you’re done! If you want to amp it up you can go around the edges with concealer for a super strong look but I think that this on it’s own looks awesome. What’s your favourite holiday red lip? Let me know in the comments and don’t forget to follow me on Instagram @forallstylishstudents

xx-Rach

One thought on “My Go-To Red Lip

Leave a Reply

